Keynote Speakers

Biographies of Keynote Speakers

Professor Philip Jessop

Professor Philip Jessop is the Canada Research Chair of Green Chemistry at Queen’s University in Canada and the Technical Director of GreenCentre Canada. His research interests include green solvents and the chemistry of CO2 and H2. Distinctions include the NSERC Polanyi Award (2008),Canadian Green Chemistry & Engineering Award (2012) and the Eni Award for New Frontiers for Hydrocarbons (2013). He serves as Chair of the Editorial Board for the journal Green Chemistry, has chaired two major international conferences and helped create GreenCentre Canada, a centre for the commercialisation of green chemistry technologies.

A/Prof. Ning Yan

A/Prof. Ning Yan obtained his bachelor and PhD degrees from Peking University in 2004 and 2009, respectively. Thereafter, he worked as a Marie-Curie Research Fellow at Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland. He joined the National University of Singapore (NUS) as an Assistant Professor and established the Lab of Green Catalysis in 2012. His major research interest includes catalytic biomass conversion, green chemistry & engineering, and catalyst development. He won the RSC Environment, Sustainability and Energy Division Early Career Award in 2017, and the Young Investigator Award from NUS in 2015.

Dr Lauren Heine

Dr Lauren Heine is the Executive Director of Northwest Green Chemistry. She applies green chemistry, green engineering and multi-stakeholder collaboration to the development of products and processes. Lauren led development of both GreenScreen® for Safer Chemicals, a method for chemical hazard assessment increasingly used worldwide and CleanGredients™, a web-based information platform for identifying greener chemicals in cleaning products. Lauren serves on the Apple Green Chemistry Advisory Board, which is tasked with helping to integrate green chemistry into Apple’s products and supply chain. For the OECD, she drafted Policy Principles for Sustainable Materials Management. Lauren served on the California Green Ribbon Science Panel. For the US EPA, she helped develop criteria for the Design for the Environment (DfE) Safer Choice and Alternatives Assessment Programs. Lauren was technical advisor to the development of the Interstate Chemicals Clearinghouse Alternatives Assessment Guide and the WA Alternatives Assessment Guide. Lauren earned her doctorate in Civil and Environmental Engineering from Duke University. She was a Fellow with the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in the Green Chemistry Program at the US Environmental Protection Agency and is currently adjunct faculty at Gonzaga University.

Professor Amy L. Prieto

Dr Prieto is a Professor in the Department of Chemistry at CSU. In addition to her research in Li-ion batteries (high capacity anode materials, 3D battery architectures), she has active projects developing nanoparticles inks for photovoltaics, light metal nanoparticles for hydrogen storage, and novel nanowire structures.  She earned a Ph.D. in Inorganic Chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley, where she was a Cooperative Research Fellow supported by Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies.  Her postdoctoral work was performed at Harvard University, where she measured the electronic properties of single molecules and nanoparticles. While at Harvard she was named one of the first L’Oréal USA for Women in Science Fellows.  Prof. Prieto founded Prieto Battery, Inc. in 2009 with the goal of commercializing a novel three dimensional high power density lithium-ion battery made from aqueous based electroplating baths; her company’s strategic partners are Intel Corporation and Stanley Black & Decker.   In 2011 she was named the ExxonMobil Solid State Chemistry Faculty Fellow (and ACS award), a Presidential Early Career Awardee for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) and won the Excellence in Storage Technology Commercialization Award from the Colorado Cleantech Industry Association. In 2012 she was awarded the Margaret B. Hazaleus Award at Colorado State University in recognition of her mentoring efforts, and in 2014 she received the Agnes Fay Morgan Research Award from Iota Sigma Pi.  She is an Associate Editor for Chemical Communications, and has recently been inducted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.  Her batteries are currently on display at the Smithsonian Institute, Lemelson Center in the “Places of Invention” exhibit.