Keynote Speakers

Professor Philip Jessop, Queen’s University, Canada
A/Prof. Ning Yan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Dr Lauren Heine, Executive Director, Northwest Green Chemistry, USA

Biographies of Keynote Speakers

Professor Philip Jessop

Professor Philip Jessop is the Canada Research Chair of Green Chemistry at Queen’s University in Canada and the Technical Director of GreenCentre Canada. His research interests include green solvents and the chemistry of CO2 and H2. Distinctions include the NSERC Polanyi Award (2008),Canadian Green Chemistry & Engineering Award (2012) and the Eni Award for New Frontiers for Hydrocarbons (2013). He serves as Chair of the Editorial Board for the journal Green Chemistry, has chaired two major international conferences and helped create GreenCentre Canada, a centre for the commercialisation of green chemistry technologies.

A/Prof. Ning Yan

A/Prof. Ning Yan obtained his bachelor and PhD degrees from Peking University in 2004 and 2009, respectively. Thereafter, he worked as a Marie-Curie Research Fellow at Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland. He joined the National University of Singapore (NUS) as an Assistant Professor and established the Lab of Green Catalysis in 2012. His major research interest includes catalytic biomass conversion, green chemistry & engineering, and catalyst development. He won the RSC Environment, Sustainability and Energy Division Early Career Award in 2017, and the Young Investigator Award from NUS in 2015.

Dr Lauren Heine

Dr Lauren Heine is the Executive Director of Northwest Green Chemistry. She applies green chemistry, green engineering and multi-stakeholder collaboration to the development of products and processes. Lauren led development of both GreenScreen® for Safer Chemicals, a method for chemical hazard assessment increasingly used worldwide and CleanGredients™, a web-based information platform for identifying greener chemicals in cleaning products. Lauren serves on the Apple Green Chemistry Advisory Board, which is tasked with helping to integrate green chemistry into Apple’s products and supply chain. For the OECD, she drafted Policy Principles for Sustainable Materials Management. Lauren served on the California Green Ribbon Science Panel. For the US EPA, she helped develop criteria for the Design for the Environment (DfE) Safer Choice and Alternatives Assessment Programs. Lauren was technical advisor to the development of the Interstate Chemicals Clearinghouse Alternatives Assessment Guide and the WA Alternatives Assessment Guide. Lauren earned her doctorate in Civil and Environmental Engineering from Duke University. She was a Fellow with the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in the Green Chemistry Program at the US Environmental Protection Agency and is currently adjunct faculty at Gonzaga University.

Invited Speakers

Dr Justin Chalker, Flinders University, Australia

Justin M. Chalker earned a B.S. in Chemistry and a B.A. in the History and Philosophy of Science at The University of Pittsburgh in 2006. At Pittsburgh, he contributed to the total synthesis of several natural products under the direction of Theodore Cohen. Supported by a Rhodes Scholarship and a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship, Justin then completed his D.Phil. at the University of Oxford under the supervision of Benjamin Davis where he developed several tools for the site-selective modification of proteins. This culminated in a new method for mutating proteins directly, rather than by altering the genetic code. In 2012, Justin started his independent career as an assistant professor at The University of Tulsa where he established a diverse research program in organic chemistry, biochemistry and environmental science. Sustainable materials that protect the environment have emerged as a primary theme in his research program. In 2015, Justin moved to Flinders University as a Lecturer in Synthetic Chemistry and recipient of an ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award. In 2016, Justin was named Tall Poppy of the Year for South Australia in recognition of his achievements in research, teaching and science communication. In 2017, Justin was promoted to Senior Lecturer and was among the inaugural recipients of the Green Chemistry Emerging Investigator Award

A/Prof. Michael Oelgemoeller, James Cook University, Australia

Dr Kei Saito, Monash University, Australia

Dr. Kei Saito is currently a Senior Lecturer at the School of Chemistry, Faculty of Science, Monash University, Australia and also a JST PRESTO researcher. He received his BEng. (2000), MEng. (2002) and Ph.D. (2004) degrees from Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan. From 2004-2005, he was a Research Associate at the 21COE Centre for Practical Nano-Chemistry, Department of Applied Chemistry, Waseda University, Japan. From 2005-2007, he was a Postdoctoral fellow, at the Centre for Green Chemistry, University of Massachusetts Lowell, USA. His research interests are in developing new green synthesis and production methods for novel sustainable/environment benign polymeric materials.

A/Prof. Jason Harper, University of New South Wales, Australia

Jason Harper was born in Adelaide, Australia, but spent his childhood in the wilds of the Northern Territory.  He returned to Adelaide for secondary schooling and carried out undergraduate work at the University of Adelaide and the Australian National University, also receiving his Ph.D. (under the supervision of Prof. Christopher Easton) from ANU as the Shell Australia Postgraduate Scholar. After positions at the University of Cambridge (as an NHMRC C. J. Martin Postdoctoral Fellow with Prof. Anthony Kirby) and the Open University, he was appointed to the University of New South Wales in 2002, where he is currently an Associate Professor. His research interests fall broadly in the area of mechanistic and physical organic chemistry. His contributions to these fields have focused on the understanding of the mechanisms of organic processes and what affects such.  These studies have particularly involved solvent effects of ionic liquids, with the ultimate goal of fulfilling their potential to control reaction outcome.  He has published more than 90 articles and book chapters, has a h-index of 25 and has given more than 60 invited lectures around the world. Jason has also been heavily involved in conference organisation.  He was a member of the three person organising committee for the 4th Asia-Pacific Conference on Ionic Liquids, held at Coogee Beach in September 2014.  More recently, he was bid developer and co-Chair of the particularly successful 23rdIUPAC Conference on Physical Organic Chemistry (ICPOC23) which was held at the University of New South Wales, July 2016.

A/P Justin Hodgkiss, Victoria University of Wellington

Justin Hodgkiss is an Associate Professor in Physical Chemistry at Victoria University of Wellington, where he has been since 2009. Associate Professor Hodgkiss is also a deputy director of the MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology, and was previously a Rutherford Discovery Fellow. His research group develop and apply ultrafast optical spectroscopy methods to understand the photophysics of next generation optoelectronic materials. Associate Professor Hodgkiss completed his undergraduate studies at the University of Otago, before undertaking his PhD with Dan Nocera at MIT, and a postdoc with Sir Richard Friend in Cambridge.